Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav

Paperboy

Cover of Paperboy

Paperboy

Borrow Borrow Borrow

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird."Booklist, Starred

"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.

Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life.

A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book
An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice
An IRA Teachers' Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A BookPage Best Children's Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection

An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection


"[Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" —The Washington Post

"Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America

*"[A] tense, memorable story." —Publishers Weekly, Starred

"An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." —Kirkus Reviews

"Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." —School Library Journal


From the Hardcover edition.

*"Reminiscent of To Kill a Mockingbird."Booklist, Starred

"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it!" —ROB BUYEA, author of Because of Mr. Terupt and Mr. Terupt Falls Again

This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of To Kill a Mockingbird, The King's Speech, and The Help. A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.

Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering—not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life.

A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book
An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice
An IRA Teachers' Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A BookPage Best Children's Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection

An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
A Mississippi Magnolia State Award List Selection


"[Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" —The Washington Post

"Paperboy offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." —Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America

*"[A] tense, memorable story." —Publishers Weekly, Starred

"An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." —Kirkus Reviews

"Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." —School Library Journal


From the Hardcover edition.
Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    3
  • Library copies:
    3
Levels-
  • ATOS:
    5.1
  • Lexile:
    940
  • Interest Level:
    MG
  • Text Difficulty:
    3 - 6

Recommended for you


 
Awards-
About the Author-
  • VINCE VAWTER, a native of Memphis, retired after a 40-year career in newspapers, most recently as the president and pubisher of the Evansville Courier & Press in Indiana. Paperboy is his first novel.

Reviews-
  • DOGO Books sandyc - The story focuses on "Little Man", which is the paperboy. He throws the meanest fast ball in Memphis during 1959. Unfortunately, he had problems speaking. Words come out of his mouth with sounds like s-s-s-s, or tu-tu-tu. He was bullied by his classmates, and type down his stories using an old type writer of his dad, and shared his own feelings with the audience. He took over his friend's job, and hoped that he can get better at speaking because he was required to speak to adults during the newspapers are handed out. One part that I was really heart broken is that the pain of not being able to do what others do, for example, when your friends all get to play at an amusement park, while your mom forbidden you to. That's what Little Man feels. Just it's much deeper, much painful that just not going to the amusement park. Little Man had try all techniques pushing him to speak, and this is painful for a reader to read. I don't really appreciate how people beside him treated him, sometimes they are just too cruel, and will harm Little Man from deep down inside. If I was Little Man's friend or neighbor, I will be willing to help him learn to talk, or even help him with communicating with others.
  • The Washington Post "[A] compelling first-person narrative."
Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Random House Children's Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 5 titles every 7 day(s).

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Enhanced Details

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Permissions

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Holds

Total holds:


Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Paperboy
Paperboy
Vince Vawter
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel